PerWriCha – Halloween 2011 – 365K or bust!

NaNoWriMo is now over, we have all finished our fifty thousand words (or not). We are all still full of enthusiasm for writing (or not). We all still have functioning relationships with colleagues and family (or not).

So what’s next?

For me NaNoWriMo came at precisely the right time. It was around the end of September that I’d been given a kick in the pants by the love of my life “You say you want to be a writer? Then do it!” From there came the flurry of activity to finish off “8 Million Stories” and, just as that was coming to a head, NaNoWriMo. I now have my novel to finish, I am already putting together my second poetry collection and I have a stack of short stories circling the field on autopilot ready to land, they just need a steady hand to guide them in.

I know that I won’t be able to keep up the 1667 words per day pace, so what would be reasonable? I think 1000 words per day. Yes that sounds about right…

So here is my Personal Writing Challenge (PerWriCha) and my pledge: By October 31st 2011, I will have written a minimum of 365,000 words. NaNoWriMo has lifted me above the curve already so I just (just?) need to keep on going.

This will mean that I will be going into NaNoWriMo 2011 fit and toned, used to writing every day, ready for another one-month sprint!

I will be counting any of the creative writing that I do, that includes this blog, poems, short stories and my novel. I have already (in the spirit of avoiding actual writing) developed a spreadsheet to add all these up and produce pretty graphs… In my defence, I did also manage to write 1108 words yesterday as well.

For those of you also wanting to capitalise on the NaNoWriMo enthusiasm, set your own PerWriCha and let everyone know how you are doing on Twitter at #PerWriCha

Good luck and happy writing (and relationships… or not…)

About dmlbooks

Dennis M. Lane is a British writer who left the shores of the UK in 1986 and hasn’t looked back since; he has now lived in South Africa for eleven years. His first poetry collection “8 Million Stories” was published in November 2010, followed by the collection of science fiction poetry and short stories “The Poring Dark” in September 2012 (two of the poems have been nominated for the 2013 Rhysling Award and another for the Dwarf Stars Award), his first novel “Talatu” in March 2013, and “The King’s Jewel” the first book in the five novel “Helix Key” series in August 2013. He is currently working on Helix Key Book 2 and a second collection of short stories (entitled "The Unmedicated"). When not writing, Dennis enjoys narrating and voice acting and recently set up Dramatic Voice Productions in order to take his interest further. To relax Dennis watches old movies from his extensive DVD collection, his three loves being science fiction B movies, Hong Kong martial arts, and anime. He has been presenting “A Review from the Jacaranda City” since May 2011 and has looked at classic old movies from “On The Beach” to “Creature from the Black Lagoon”.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Personal Writing Challenge PerWriCha. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

